[New essays] “Fatherhood, Veganism & Masculinity” and “To Throw the Baby Out With the Bath Water”

While much of my ‘professional’ writing time is spent developing and revising papers for journal publication, I always have a few less formal pieces under development at any given time.

This month, two of these shorter essays reached the public and I wanted to take a moment to hare them here.

Fatherhood, Masculinity, and Veganism

To Throw the Baby Out With the Bath Water

The first is a personal, autobiographical and reflective practice pieces for a literary project I was invited to submit to. The essay, “Fatherhood, Masculinity, and Veganism” focuses on the intersection of animal exploration and cultural histories. Through exploring my own relationship to food, fatherhood and political identity, the essay examines how anti-authoritarian parents can help to raise children who embrace our politics without the development of an oppositional frame….in other words, how can we raise anti-speciesist kids without raising them as meat eaters and thus establishing a practice to ‘rebel against’? The essay was written nearly 4 years ago after the birth of my first child, and despite quite a lot changing since then, I have left the majority of the piece in its original form.

The second publication is a short, one page essay as part of the seasonal newsletter of the Peace and Justice Studies Association, which I help to lead. As the Executive Director, I am responsible for assembling and editing the newsletter, and contributing the “Director’s Cut”. For this issue, I chose to write a post-election piece to make a bit of sense of where we stand in these uncertain times. There’s nothing groundbreaking here, but it felt good to out a bit of my own reflection down on the screen.

In a couple weeks I’ll be finished with my Spring 2017 syllabi and will happily be sharing those here as well!

 

 

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

