Updates from a manic writer

1

For a great many of us who work on an academic calendar, this week tastes especially sweet. For me, it means that my work load goes from heavy to light as students depart campuses and the year winds down. For those outside of the September-May work cycle, this may not be immediately apparent, but those of us who are academic laborers will certainly relate.

With another academic year behind (and 10 of my 11 classes completed!), I took a few minute to update my “…In the works” page and I would encourage you to take a look.

Right now, I am in the latter stages of completing my first book! What I am tentatively calling The Politics of Attack, is being published by Manchester University Press and their series on Contemporary Anarchist Studies. The book is the outgrowth of my doctoral research, and although I had to cut nearly half of the project for the publisher, what is going forward I hope will be well received. The book focuses on the history, theory and critique offered by insurrectionary anarchism, and also proposes a contextual reading of political violence that embraces the ideas of the attackers. I am very excited to be partnered with such great folks and would like to thank the series editors: Laurence Davis, Alex Prichard, Nathan Jun and Uri Gordon.

Because I’m a manic writing  masochist, I am also in the latter stages of completing 3 journal articles (all of which are already accepted for publication) and 3 book chapters I was commissioned to write. All of these pieces are described in the “…In the works”.

What does this mean? Well it means that over the next few months, as content makes it way through the hands of copy editors, and design teams, this site will once again burst into a flurry of activity with new publications.

As if that wasn’t enough, I’m also in the process of negotiating new (paid) work…especially in light of all of the unpaid efforts described above. As anyone who has ever gotten a job knows, this is no fun. Talking salary, benefits and the like is stressful, awkward and sometimes just downright depressing. I’m lucky enough to be speaking with great allies, but even so, as I attempt to reduce my preccarity with each new position, it’s always a struggle.

So, onto of the book, 3 journals and 3 book chapters set to come out in the next few months, I’ll also be starting a new job which means new syllabi! As only other academic nerds will understand, I truly love designing syllabi. This means that my summer will be chock full of reviewing desk copies, reading syllabi, and trying to think through new and exciting topics.

Stay tuned during the summer months and keep checking back, it promises to be an exciting time for all.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

